The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

Terrier by Tamora PierceTerrier

by Tamora Pierce

❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎

Series: Beka Cooper (1), Tortall Universe (15)
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction, Magic
Published By: Random House in 2006
Format: Paperback (582 pages)

Goodreads / LibraryThing

In 246 H.E., the Provost’s Dogs guard Tortall’s capital city. Beka Cooper is one of their newest trainees – a Puppy wet behind the ears but eager to learn. But Beka will have to learn faster than she bargained for because she’s assigned to the Lower City, Corus’s toughest district. It’s filled with pickpockets who are fast as lightening, rouges who will knock your teeth out with a smile, and murderers with hidden plans. In the constant battle for the Lower City’s streets, Beka will have to use her smarts and her own eerie brand of magic if she hopes to survive.

This is the beginning of Beka’s story, her legend, and her legacy….

Review

I liked Beka’s story because it was one of Pierce’s, but that was about the extent of my interest. I found some places to be tedious, as though it took Beka a very long time to find one little piece of information, but she discovered the whole plot in a moment. I understand that Pierce is working towards a trilogy, and so the things that bore me now are likely to be important later.

This book is written in the first person, and that must be expected before going into it. Traditionally Pierce writes in the third person, so the journal-reading experience is a new one for readers of hers.

There were many charming aspects. I liked Beka’s friends – the rouges more than the Puppies and Dogs. You can tell from the start which are going to be important based on the way she writes about them, and I look forward to hearing all of their stories in the later books. I also loved Beka’s cat, Pounce, and I remember Alanna’s trusted cat-friend who turned out to be a deity and I cannot help but wonder if it is that same handing guiding Beka….

Pierce does not disappoint. I believe that Terrier is far from being her strongest work, but it is a good read nonetheless and should not be missed by any fan of her work.

TL;DR

This is definitely not my favorite of hers, and the pacing is a bit slow, but anything by Tamora Pierce is worth reading.


Source

Tamora Pierce was one of my favorite author’s growing up… of course I snagged this copy as soon as I saw it!  I believe this one is from Borders.


First Sentence

“Written on the morning of my first day of duty.”


Some of My Favorite Quotes

“I will be known forever as the Puppy who chased a cutpurse and caught fish garbage instead. My descendants will pretend I’m not in their bloodline. No – no one will want to make descendants with me.”

“Cats must always be cats, even when they are gods, or constellations.”


Available At

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / IndieBound

Leave a Reply

