The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

To the best of my knowledge, I have lost an entire chapter of Ambrosia.

Okay, so two chapters in?  Not exactly the end of the world.  Granted, that also means that I have lost backup copies of all my other writing.  I’m not panicking just yet.  I do back up things, after all,  Just not as frequently as perhaps I should.

Did you know that The Office of Letters and Light encourages NaNoWriMo participants to back up their work every week?  I think Tuesday is the day.  I’m a bit cocky and I never really paid attention to that, since with my vast experience (I’m talking for real, here) with electronics, I actually know how not to download a virus, and how to remove one safely if I have been negligent.  With all the woes of electronics attacks, a lot of us (myself included!) forget about the simplicities of human negligence.  For example – I lost an entire chapter of Ambrosia because the flash drive containing all of my writing which I carry at all times in my purse, isn’t in my purse.

This being said, my purse has a reputation for utterly destroying everything.  CDs, movies, books, I lost my Olympus camera back in 2005 to the woes of my purse.  My purse is not my friend.  Why in the world would it retain from eating my Very Important Flash Drive?

Because I backed up two weeks ago, this isn’t the end of the world.

Because I didn’t back up this week, I did lose something.

Let this be a lesson to the rest of the writing world.  I say, and I cannot emphasize enough, back up your work.  A coffee spill, a thoughtless action, a virus, or an electrical storm can steal your pride and joy away from you at your will.

Leave a Reply

