The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

In honor of my lack of inspired topics, as well as an incredibly busy week, I present a loving parody of Shel Siverstein’s poem, “Sick” (one of my favorites).  You can read the text of the original poem here.

.

“I cannot post in my blog today,”
Sadly said Miss Writer Day,
“I haven’t done my daily push-ups,
all my fingers have little bumps,
My brain is sad, my skin is dry,
I can only read through one eye,
I’m looking for my missing socks,
My main character is eating rocks,
and now she’s yelling at the queen?
I think she said something obscene…
Oh no, what can I do?
The queen says “To the stocks with you!”
As you can see, my brain is broke
When I try to write, well, I choke!
Some days it seems like I can’t win-
Is a vacation such a sin?
To be honest, I’m feeling drained.
Today’s post is not ordained.
I hope you don’t think I’m a bum,
I really am just feeling dumb.
Maybe I’ve reached my writing peak?
Where art thou, words I seek?
I know I shouldn’t sit and pout,
But I can’t make the right words come out.
I don’t want my post to be late,
Finding a subject would be great!
At the computer, I leer and leer,
My eyes are beginning to weep and tear….
I think I will just give up….
What’s that? What do you say?
I can post a poem today?
Cool beans! That sounds okay!”

Leave a Reply

