The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

Well, guys, I did it.

I think I say this every session, but I was seriously concerned this time that I wasn’t going to finish the novel.  I hit 50,000 words about a week ago, but to me, you don’t win NaNoWriMo unless you finish the novel.  Since my novels extend between 50,000 and 80,000 words, for me, this is a pretty reasonable expectation.  This is the latest that I’ve finished a NaNoWriMo session, but I feel as though I am happy with the ending.  And, you know, it’s the longest novel I’ve every written in a month, hitting (according to the validator) just over 65,000 words.

Sprite challenged me in several ways.  First of all, I’m not very well read into faeries.  In fact, I didn’t start warming up to them until recently, and there’s a darned good chance that unless something wonderful happens in this season of True Blood, Sookie Stackhouse is going to make me hate them. again.  Secondly, I actually put effort into creating a good relationship in the book.  I have this issue with writing romantic relationships.  Kinda essential in YA!  It’s not that I’m in a bad relationship, it’s just that when I kiss him I don’t start thinking of all the best adjectives, ya know?  So I did that, and I am very happy with it.  Thirdly, I wrote an extensive battle sequence without leaning on my crutch of making it seem fast by switching character points of view.

Some things I struggled with?  That battle sequence will need some serious rewriting.  But the point?  It is written.  Also, Amy started off as a very strong, unique character and I loved my writing at the beginning of the book.  As I advanced, however, she began to fall apart.  The only thing that remained consistent was her emotions – she feels things very strongly, whether it be happiness or grief.  Also, I killed three (relatively important) characters, which while being a big deal for me, probably was done a little heartlessly.

I’m not really hear to tell y’all all about Sprite, though.  Mostly, I’m just here to show you this.

Isn’t it pretty? 🙂

Leave a Reply

