Book Review: The Eyre Affair

1

Series: Thursday Next (Book One)

Published: July 2001

Page Count: 400

Genre: Alternate History, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Mystery

Read Count: Once

Duration: May 5th – May 22nd

Rated? Five Stars

Welcome to a surreal version of Great Britain, circa 1985, where time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem, militant Baconians heckle performances of Hamlet, and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection, until someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature. When Jane Eyre is plucked from the pages of Brontë’s novel, Thursday must track down the villain and enter the novel herself to avert a heinous act of literary homicide

TLDR?

Original, refreshing, amusing.  More please.


Love, love, love!

I have been intending to pick this book up for, I kid you not, seven years. It was well worth the wait. I remember the girl sitting next to me in tenth grade English reading it, and I asked her what it was about (we were reading Jane Eyre in class, which I thought was ghastly by-the-by, but that’s one person’s opinion). I’ve always had so many books to read I just never got around to it, but wow. I’m glad I did. Such originality and creativity.

As I mentioned, I am not, in any way, shape, or form, a fan of Jane Eyre. But that hardly matters with this book. Jane Eyre’s story is merely a setting and the real delight lies in the puzzle pieces around Thursday learning about traveling into books, and stopping the dastardly villain (whom I always imagine with a mustache. Can’t really tell you why). Anybody who enjoys literature will enjoy this series for similar reasons that Inkheart is delightful: the author has discovered a new way to bring books to life.

I particularly enjoyed how the book is written in all seriousness (there is a lot of conversation about “Crimea” which was a war that many of the characters fought in)… but yet there is also a lot of silliness thrown in (Thursday’s father is just a hoot!). While I never got much to liking Thursday, all the people in this book as quirky and interesting and definitely make you want to keep turning the pages.

Find it on: Amazon, Goodreads, Barnes & Noble.
Available on Kindle & Nook.

Leave a Reply

