The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

This is my third calendar year with NaNoWriMo, and my fifth novel (having competed in one of the summer sessions each year since the start).  Each year the challenges are a little different.

Last summer, I wrote Sprite, which wrote more easily than any other novel I’ve written.  I wish I could say it was because I am growing stronger as a writer, but I think it has more to do with the fact I had a plot for June’s novel.  As I did for ‘Tweens last November.  I have a vague plot for Sparky Jones:  Life on Shuffle this year, but I don’t think it’s going to be the plot that kills me.

Sparky is out of my norm.  Not too far out, but far enough that I am having difficulty making it interesting.  In the past I have written according to a very strict regime of YA sci-fi fantasy wherein you meet the hero, the hero is thrown into a situation and has to learn things, the hero makes allies, the hero uncovers a plot, and the hero fights a huge battle.  Sparky has no fight.  She already knows her allies.  She’s fighting an incognito battle.

Subtlety is not my strong point.  Either I think I’m being incredibly ninja but I’m actually tripping over all the tin cans, or else I am ninja’ing so successfully that I am completely invisible.  How do you build a plot with an enemy that is so small and so subtle that it’s hard to see it unless you look at the right time from the right point of view.

Folks, happy November First!  I’m going to spend the next thirty days teaching myself how to write a book with almost no element of the impossible.

Other participants out there, can I get a “hey-ya”?

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo, Day One

  1. Melanie says:

    HEYA! 😀 I recently discovered your blog haha and thought I would say hi.

    that was awkward.

    anyway I think your cover art is really beautiful! and poof I’m sure your poetry is nice ^^

    1. Hello Melanie!

      Thank you for the nice words! I must admit that I’m not particularly good at keeping up with my blog, but I’m glad you discovered it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

