Procrastination Station

I came on here to write a post on how I am illogically participating in NaNoWriMo again until I saw my last post and went, Aww, last time I was here, it was also NaNoWriMo!

And then I scrolled down more.  And discovered it was NaNoWriMo a few posts before that, too.  After that, I came to a moment of self-realization:  my blog is the place I go when I am procrastinating on NaNoWriMo.

I am okay with this.  I think I enjoy a little procrastination, and at the end of the day, it doesn’t affect my word count.  Yep, that’s right folks!  I am a proud Six Time NaNoWinner!  This means I am very good at piling up lots of words, and not much else.  But hey.  I can pile up words like a boss.

So, as per tradition, I am going to tell you about this year’s novel.  It’s called The Eden Experiment.  It’s sci-fi, based in a post-apocalyptic world, and the main character is named Opal.  Things happen at the beginning which causes chaos to ensue, which leads her to a fork in her life path where is is given the choice to end her life, or continue forward in a rebuilding project run by scientists.  She isn’t too hot on either of these but decides against the whole “dying” thing.  More chaos ensues, but I haven’t written that yet, so I can’t tell you about it.

Also I will give you an image of the book cover that I created two years ago, because book covers are also tradition.  I will be changing this, though, so you may get another cover later on.

Eden Experiment

Other than NaNo-ing, I feel the need to defend myself and say that the second draft of Strange went out to proofreaders this summer in a terrifying (for me) leap of faith and of the three copies I sent out, already one of them has come back.  Which will lead me later in the month to discuss my appreciation and frustration alike in the editing process and the difference between how I edit verses how other people edit.  Basically, lets just say that I think I should have been an editor at a publishing house because I am merciless.  Mais c’est la vie.

I think I’m done with the writing procrastination now.  I had a delicious Cinnamon Roll Mug Cake for breakfast, and it’s got me in a cozy, fall mood.  I think I may make apple crisp now.  Or, you know, do something useful.  Like laundry.

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

