50K & Still Running

This is the fastest I’ve every ambled my way to 50,000 words in NaNoWriMo, and that includes last year where I stumbled over about 10k words in a day as Sparky excitedly discovered the delights of a traditional greasy diner.

This is one of the hardest parts of NaNo for me… when the word count stops being the central focus and my new goal becomes “oh crap, where is my ending and how do I hog-tie it before Thanksgiving?”.  This is where, like in Strange, I see that I need to hurry things along and my descriptors fall off the face of the Earth.

My goal?  Not this year.

I have discovered in a moment of pure delight that I am capable of writing 1050 words in 20 minutes when properly focused and motivated.  That tells me there is no reason for me to stumble my way to the end like a zombie, grabbing for a few half-baked ideas to make sure my “once upon a time” gets tied to a “happily ever after”.  I am a prolific writer when properly motivated, and I think that maybe, just maybe, I can give Opal Finch a little bit of dignity.

So, here it goes, blogosphere.  50k and counting.  We’re going to make sure this one ends with a bang.

Leave a Reply

