The Literary Alphabet

This is stolen right out of My So-Called Chaos, but it seemed like an appropriate addition to this usually dormant blog.
A: Author you’ve read the most books by:  Tamora Pierce.  All of her series, save one or two.  Multiple times.
B: Best Sequel Ever: I positively loved Prisoner of Azkaban, by JK Rowling.
C: Currently Reading: Mastiff, by Tamora Pierce.
D: Drink of Choice While Reading:   Hot tea.  Period.
E: E-Reader or Physical Book?  I tried a Nook and couldn’t get hooked.  Physical book, please!
F: Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Dated in High School:  Oh goose.  Let me see.  I believe the question is less “who I would have dated” and more “who would have dated me,” but without ado, I believe I’ll have to cast my vote on Will Parry, of Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy.
G: Glad You Gave This Book a Chance: Blue Bloods, by Melissa de la Cruz.  I didn’t mean to love them, but I did.
H: Hidden Gem Book: Time Cat, by Lloyd Alexander.  I grew up on this book, and most people don’t even know it exists.
I: Important Moment in Your Reading Life:  Forever.  I have a very vivid, heart-warming memory of sitting in the forest behind my house on the stone wall the bordered the property reading Sandy’s Book by Tamora Pierce; and equally fond memories of re-reading Prisoner of Azkaban under my covers at night.
J: Just Finished: Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton.
K: Kinds of Books You Wont Read:  Non-fiction, in-your-face.  That’s non-historical religion, self-help, politcal, blech.
L: Longest Book You’ve Ever Read: I can’t be sure, but I bet it was something by George R.R. Martin.
M: Major Book Hangover Because Of:  I can’t think of any book that broke me.  Excited me, yes, but nothing negative.
N: Number of Book Cases You Own:  Presently, three.  I’ve had five, in the past, but got a couple taller/wider ones and consolidated.
O: One book you have read multiple times:  Just one? Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (all six books) by Douglas Adams (and Eoin Colfer).  Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton.  Harry Potter by JK Rowling.  Attack of the Clones by RA Salvatore.  Trickster’s ChoiceTrickster’s Queen by Tamora Pierce.  I could keep going.
P: Preferred place to read:  I used to have a big grey cushy chair, and THAT was the place… since I no longer have that… the bathtub.
Q: Quote That Inspires You/Gives You Feels From a Book You’ve Read:  I couldn’t pick one.
R: Reading Regret:  Dune by Frank Herbert.  It was required summer reading in high school, but… blech.
S: Series You Started But Still Need to Finish (All Books Are Out):  Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris.  A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snickett. Plus a handful of trilogies and the like.
T: Three of your Favorite Books: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green.  Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling.  Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton.  The latter two seem to come up a lot….
U: Unapologetic Fangirl For:  Tamora Pierce.  I don’t care if her key audience is young adults.  Her books are exactly the universe I wish I was born into.
V: Very Excited for This Release More Than Others:  I’m not jumping up and down for any new books at the moment since I have 150+ on my “To Read” list!!!
W: Worst Bookish Habits:  Destroying books in my purse accidentally because I like having a book with me at all times and my purse is a book-death-trap.
X: X Marks the Spot, Start at the Top of Your Shelf and Pick the 27th Book: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.  Just read that this month, actually, and it was FABULOUS.
Y: Your Latest Book Purchase: Blue is for Nightmares by Laurie Faria Stolarz.  Next on the “To Read” list!
Z: Zzzz-Snatcher Book-(The last book that kept you up way too late): I haven’t been up late reading since I moved in with Matthew, so the last was probably the 3am read of Catching Fire back in 2009-ish.
Leave a Reply

