The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

I’ve decided this year that instead of doing NaNoWriMo, I’m going to write through the year.  I’ve wanted to reunite with the characters from Fate, since they are my loves, and this year, that is exactly what I am going to do.

Since I’ve started at my new job, I’ve been working with the character again, and writing my way through the sequel, called Green.  After the shenanigans in Fate,  this story brings back all the same characters and adds a few more, and with fewer concerns about being hunted because of their magic, but of course that means there are still a million other concerns in the dysfunctional world.  Are there too many?  Maybe.

Plot is, after all, my greatest struggle.  That, and focus.  I’ve been writing mostly in the morning, before work, and after work.  I want to get in the habit of 2k/day, just like NaNoWriMo, because I feel like that’s a good rhythm for me.  I’m a highly distracted person.  Even today, I’ve only done about 500 words… but I’ve done a million other things to avoid the other 1500!

The scene I’m working on today features Jessica – my love – and Daniel, who is for better or worse her companion.  They’ve recently stumbled upon a village completely wiped away by the plague, and Daniel is especially frustrated after an unsuccessful transformation and an exhausting toll on h is energy through the use of multiple magics.  He’s exhausted and hungry and would give his left leg for a break… something that will never happen.  Right now, they’re both on horseback on the road back to the ruins… a destination which is unsettling to Jessica, who sees it as wasteful that they are on the road away from the devastation.

The scene itself is conversation, all from Jessica’s POV, which means there needs to be a lot of action in the wind, and a lot of thinking and reminiscence.

As a side thought, I desperately need a writing group.

Leave a Reply

