The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

1

 

Series: Delirium (Book One)

Published: February 2012

Page Count: 441

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Post Apocalyptic, Teen Romance

Read Count: Once

Duration: June 20th – June 27th

Rated? Four Stars

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

TLDR?

A different dystopia.  Interesting.  And the story is just beginning.

This is a much different take on dystopia than that to which I am accustomed.  It is about a person more than a government, and the point of view leaves you floating instead of fighting, crying instead of cursing.  The main character, Lena, is just as confused and excited as any teen falling in love for the first time, but there are no googly eyes and despite the fact that love is the basis of the book, her love story doesn’t want to make you vomit.

Oliver does something that I find refreshing – she focuses on different kinds of love.  We fall too quickly in the assumption of romantic love, but there is the love between friends and the love in families as well, and they are all equally important.  All of it is considered a disease.

At the end of the book, the story is only just beginning.  I don’t love Lena, although I liked her “one true love,” but the idea and possibilities are enough to keep me reading more.

Color me intrigued.

Find it on: Amazon, Goodreads, Barnes & Noble.
Available on Kindle & Nook.

Leave a Reply

