Mini-Book Haul (YAY!)

I get to do this so infrequently these days, what with having-too-many-books-and-not-enough-space, but I just couldn’t resist.

Look guys, I got a couple new books!

 

img_3592
Pardon the quality, I had to do some photo-futzing on a computer not equipped to photo-futz.

It’s nothing fancy, to be sure, but every time I hold a new book in my hand with that feeling “this is mine,” I get happy.

Harry Potter Magical Places & Characters Coloring Book

The first book is just an adult coloring book I picked up for a pretty decent discount at Hot Topic the day after Christmas, and it finally arrived yesterday afternoon.  The pages are a bit thin to color with markers, and there’s a lot of detail so if you’re looking for something simple, this is not for you.

The last few pages are one of the reasons why I particularly enjoy this book.  While there are dozens of coloring pages, they take a few of the full spread images and have screen shots from the films in the back.  These pages are in gorgeous, glossy color, and great for reference or just to ogle at.

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos

Okay, okay, I know I’m an adult.  Sometimes, I don’t behave like it, but I know I am one.  At 27 with grey hairs coming in more and more frequently, it’s difficult to deny.  I also know that this is absolutely a children’s book.  Even without reading the summary on the back, the style of cover art gives it away.

You know what? Pfft.  Who cares?

Our grocery store sponsors this great big bin of community books.  You bring your unwanted books to the service desk, and they add them to the bin.  You see something in the bin that you want, grab it.  No charge.  It’s wonderful, it’s a giant bin of temptation, and I’ve never touched it before.  I very much want to take all the books.  But last night, this book caught my eye.  The cover art reminded me of something like The Spiderwick Chronicles or A Series of Unfortunate Events.  I thought I ought to put it down, but I didn’t.

And that’s how Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos got added to my library.  It’s a little worn around the edges, but all the pages are intact and there’s no graffiti or anything else.  I’m looking forward to it probably being a quick and light read some winter weekend.

Meanwhile, I’ve just discovered that I have a $5 certificate to Thriftbooks, so I’m off there next to scrounge up a needed sequel.  I’m in the mood for a bit of Jasper Fforde….

Leave a Reply

