The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

One of my favorite things about being an Audible subscriber is that on the 6th of every month, I get two credits to buy whatever I want.  For those of you know have bought audiobooks straight out – you know that they usually go for about $30-50/each.  My subscription lets me get them for about $11, which is fine by me!  Because I spend so much time driving each week (my activity tracker says I was in transit for 16 hours last week), these audiobooks are lifesavers to me.  I look forward to my credit drop for a couple weeks before it comes in.

I have a general rule about these audiobooks, however, and it’s that I try to buy books I’ve already read, that I know I enjoyed.  I’m a re-reader, and I know I’ll get the most mileage out of these books.  And I do!  I’ve listened to many of them twice, even though I have un-listened-to books still.

This month, I decided to loot the first two books of the Robert Langdon Series:

I first read these when The da Vinci Code was hot.  I’ve always had issues with the way Brown treats the women in his stories, but I do find the stories fascinating.  This is likely mostly due to the historical elements tied in.  I love Angels and Demons.  Even the film is incredible – I recommend it highly to anyone who likes suspense thrillers and can stomach the religious nonchalance (my father would call it “heresy” so there’s that, too).

I had an extra little treat this month, too!

Every day, Audible features a different Daily Deal.  These are usually books under $5 (way better than even buying them under subscription).  I try to keep my wishlist updated so if one of the books I want to snag is featured, they’ll email me.  Last week, I got an email.

41y6nscka-l-_sl300_

I’m getting to a place with modern young adult fantasy where I think if there’s another love triangle, I’ll scream.  When I read The Red Queen, I was feeling especially intolerant of that sort of thing (which, naturally, is featured, gah).  However, the main character is wonderful, and the story is very interesting.  It’s a departure from what has been capturing YA lately, and I very much enjoyed it.

Well, that’s it for me and new audiobooks this month!

One thought on “Audible Haul: January

Leave a Reply

