The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

Good morning all!  I hope everyone had a delightful weekend.

mailbox-monday

I’m afraid this may be my last mailbox Monday until my next Audible haul, unless I come across something completely delicious.  My last two books from my Thriftbooks purchase came in last week.  They’re both sequels to books I’m currently reading and I’m excited to add them to my TBR pile!

img_3651

Something Rotten is the fourth installment in the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde.  Thursday Next is one of the few series that can make me laugh out loud, and yet somehow I seem to only manage to get through one book each year.  I’m excited to read this one, but it’s about four books deep at the moment in the TBR pile.

The Gray Wolf Throne is the third book in Cinda China Williams’ Seven Realms series.  I very much enjoyed the first two.  If you are looking for excellent YA high fantasy, Seven Realms is what you want.  Expect for the love triangle.  WHY?!  … The covers on these books are always breathtakingly designed, though, and I just want to point out, *squee!* cover art!

In other news….

I’m still plugging through Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos.  The intelligent girl has quickly become arrogant, and it’s starting to feel like the author is trying much too hard to be in the Victorian era, which is distracting and a little silly at best.  A story should flow, not stop for tea.

My husband and I have started listening to Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, but we’re only as far as the Hogwarts Express – not even to the Dementors, so not much to report, there!

The book that has been stealing all my time and attention this week is The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.

2

Kvothe.  My goodness that boy frustrates me.  He’s just now found Denna at the inn (after the wedding) and honestly at this point I just sit there and wait for something else bad to happen to him.  I’ll give it to Rothfuss – he knows how to write an engaging story.  I often forget that Kvothe is only fifteen where I’m at.

I cannot recall ever reading a book that I couldn’t put down, but I was so. Immensely. Frustrated with.  I read an interview with Rothfuss the other day about his journey to write and publish The Name of the Wind.  It’s an interesting story – a ten year job and an instant bestseller.  He also made a lot of good points about fantasy cliches – ones I hadn’t thought about myself.  These days, fantasy has been dumbed down by poor writers (sorry, true) and when I think about cliches, I’m thinking about love triangles and the chosen one and prince charming… but Rothfuss made very solid points about dwarf and dragon overuse as well.  It made me really think about the way I write my fantasy fiction, my plot, and character motivation.  Enlightening.  Despite the exasperation I have with the main character, I’m looking forward to digging into more of Rothfuss’ work.  He’s brilliant.

Well, that’s what’s going on in my reading world!  What’ve you pulled off your library shelf?


This post is linked up to the weekly meme, Mailbox Monday.  Check out other linked posts here!

9 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday & What’s New – 1/23/17

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    I have a friend who loves Fforde’s books. I hope you love the one you got.

    1. Rhea says:

      Thank you! He hasn’t let me down yet. 🙂

  2. sagustocox says:

    Looks like you have some good reads.

    1. Rhea says:

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to digging in!

  3. ENJOY your books.

    I actually do not know any of them.

    Have a wonderful week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

    1. Rhea says:

      Thank you, Silver. You too!

  4. MarthaE says:

    I like the Tuesday Next series too, even though I’m only up to book three. 🙂
    I have the Patrick Rothfuss title on my Audible shelf. Maybe I’ll get to it this year.
    Nice that your are listening with your husband. Mine is not much of a reader. At least we read/listen to the Bible together.
    Happy Reading!

    1. Rhea says:

      “Something Rotten” is book 4, so it looks like we’re at the same place!

      My husband hates reading, but he loves audiobooks! It was a long struggle to find the medium, because there were many stories I wanted to share with him, and now I can. 🙂

      Thank you for stopping in! Happy reading yourself!

Leave a Reply

