The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

top-ten-tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted by the ladies over on The Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s theme is all about books that you liked either less or more than you thought you were going to!  Check up the other linkups for more great books!


For this week’s linkup, I want to focus on books I didn’t think I’d like, let alone love.  As readers, we’re so used to the hype and getting disappointed that it’s awesome when you really end up loving a book!

The Constant Princess by Philippa Gregory

Before this book, I didn’t read much historical fiction.  I was a fantasy girl, through-and-through.  I immediately loved Catalina’s poise and this book completely opened me up to a new genre.

A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

I read this before all the hype about the HBO show.  I picked it up and put it down several times.  I was so bored by the end of the first chapter.  Then I met Daenerys. And Tyrion. And Arya.  And I was hooked!

Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

This book came into my life at a time when there were way too many cheesy teen romance novels, and way too many young adult vampire novels.  I was (am) super over it.  For me, this one was just different enough that I’m still working through the series.

Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl

Another book that’s way off my usual-book-radar.  Between that and the very mixed reviews, I wasn’t sure I would like this one at all.  But I loved it!

Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

Whenever I get an audiobook for less than $4, I’m a little suspicious of it.  Menagerie was exactly the type of book I needed – mature, magic, different from what I’d been reading.  I listened to it, my husband listened to it, and we agreed we need to snag the sequel.

Pride, Prejudice, and Zombies by Jane Austin & Seth Grahame-Smith

I’m not a romance person.  Give me action, adventure and humor any day!  I’ve never read Jane Austin because it’s just not my thing.  This has been on my “meh, maybe I’ll try it” list for ages.  When I saw there was a movie in the works, I decided to give it a go.  Oh my goodness.  Action, adventure, and humor!

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

This book got tossed on my TBR list when it first came out.  I read it years later as a half-hearted attempt to clear out my TBR a little, starting with the old stuff. Um… loved it!  I’m looking forward to the film.

Poison by Chris Wooding

I rarely find myself reading a standalone book these days, especially one published in the last ten years.  Poison was refreshing, and came after several disappointing books.  I wish there was a sequel.

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Have you ever seen the movie “On Golden Pond”?  The protagonist, Norman, makes a big deal that his grandson hasn’t read Treasure Island.  For as much as I like pirates and adventure, the book hadn’t really come across my desk until I was 26.  I flew through it.  It’s definitely a bit antiquated, but serious respect – it’s the heart and soul of pirate literature.

My Mother Sang, The Devil Danced by Madison McGrath

This is an eBook.  It’s not particularly original, or widely known, but it was so refreshing.  I have issues with eBooks, I find them unsatisfying, but for a while, I tried.  This one was short, the writing style was simple but rustic and beautiful, and the title was delicious.

What books were you feeling unimpressed by, then BAM! on your favorites list?  Are there books that you wanted to love but just couldn’t?  Tell me all about it!

2 thoughts on “You Took Me By Surprise – Top Ten Tuesday #TTT

  1. One of my best friends LOVES Philippa Gregory, but I’ve never actually read any of her books. I keep meaning to! I’ll have to consider this one 🙂

    I actually got angry at Game of Thrones. In fairness, I watched the show first, so I already had a pretty good idea of what was going down as I was reading it, and I did enjoy the book better than the show. BUT. Ned made me want to throw my book across the room. He was so bloody ignorant and naive that I wanted to strangle him myself!

    I’ve thought about trying Managerie, but none of the rest of these have ever even come close to my TBR radar, either because they just seem like something I wouldn’t read (Zombies, Treasure Island) or because I’ve never heard of them. This is a great list!

    1. Rhea says:

      The benefit of having seen the GoT show before the books, I think, is people don’t call you pretentious because you probably don’t say things like “Well, in the books…” :). My husband watches it but I don’t just because it was sooo close to the books. Now of course they’re paving their own course, and everyone *really* hates the book-readers because the show is the new canon.

      I have some friends who are pretty passionate GoT enthusiasts! 😛

Leave a Reply

