The Literary Phoenix

Funny, the damage a silly little book can do. Especially in the hands of a silly little girl.

imwayr

It’s Monday, What are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Date.  It’s a great way to catch up on all the literary ins-and-outs of the previous week, and see what everyone is up to.  Check out this week’s linkup!


It’s been a good/bad reading week.

I finished off both The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien and Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo early last week.  Those were good.

Still trudging through Myth in Human History by The Great Courses – the next lecture is about the myth surrounding Isis and Osiris, which is one of the few Egyptian myths I know so it should be good.

This week in Rejected Princesses by Jason Porath, I read about a Jewish moneylender who manage to outwit the church and the Inquisition.  You go girl!

In Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling, we’ve seen the Quidditch World cup and cheered along with the spectators!  We’ve also been properly upset with Barty Crouch as he scolded Winky in the woods.  The trio is en route to Hogwarts now and Draco has just popped into the compartment to mock Ron’s dress robes.

1459812522-01-_sx450_sy635_sclzzzzzzz_For my hardcopy book, I’ve moved into Drawn Away by Holly Bennett.  I was given this book through a giveaway on LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review.  It’s the first time I’ve received anything like this, and I’m starting to wonder how honest they want me to be.  I’ve a lot of technical gripes with the story thus far and am really pushing myself through it and trying to make myself finish it.  I’ll discuss more of these nitpicks and pet peeves and general frustrations in my review which hopefully will pop up sometime next week, unless I’m exhausted to boot this week.  I’m particularly disappointed, though, because this book sounded so interesting by the blurb.  I thought it was going to be more about a retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Match Girl but it’s really not, not that I can see at all.  It’s more of a story about two haunted Canadian teens.  I’m about 37% (I think) through right now and it dawdles horribly and the Little Match Girl has been more like a side-thought or an elephant in the room than something that is pushing the story along.  Because the story isn’t really going anywhere that I can tell.

The Dark Tower by Stephen King (Audiobook)Fortunately, I’ve got The Dark Tower by Stephen King to distract me on the audiobook front.  King’s Dark Tower series is one of my favorites.  I know he’s the king of horror, but I for one am glad to see this science-fiction piece finally coming to film.  A television series or miniseries would have been a better format, but I’ll take what I can get!  The Dark Tower is the last in the series, and I’ve read it twice before, but never in audiobook format. I’m looking forward to wrapping this series up before the July film release (especially since the film is intended to be more of a sequel, which makes enough sense if you’ve read the books).  I’ve only just started the reread, but already we’ve lost Pere Callahan and there’ve been half a dozen deaths, some todash chimes and – no big deal – the “chap” was born.  Crap is raining down and there’s still 25 hours left of this book.  It’s a wind ride of a closure, my friends.

That’s it for this week!  Like I said, I’m really hoping to finish up Drawn Away quickly and move on to something else, and I continually want to inch closer to finishing Myth in Human History and Rejected Princesses if just so I don’t have to write about them every week!

What’ve you been reading this week?  Do you love it or hate it or a little of both?

Leave a Reply

