Camp NaNoWriMo… Again.

Since I commute 90 miles to work, I stopped doing NaNoWriMo.  I didn’t have time and more importantly, I didn’t have energy.  Realistically, I have 8 different novels that have been (sloppily) written from beginning to end, and there comes a point in a girl’s life where she has to acknowledge that if these puppies are ever going to see the light of day, they need some revisions.

I am terrible at revisions.  I like the editing, but not the rewriting.  Essentially what happens is, I take the original story, use it as an outline, and then go in and rewrite the whole things… typoes, plotholes, character inconsistencies, and all.  It’s a bad system, I’ll admit.

Looking for drive and a sense of purpose, I hit up Camp NaNoWriMo for the first time in four years.  It’s different!  It’s not just for writing the novels now – it’s for revisions, writing, it has customizable goals… it’s quite nice!  Definitely a little campy (harhar), but much more effective for what I wanted to do.  Besides, with the cabins you get a whole team of people cheering you on.

So for July, I’ve pulled out ‘Tweens.  This was my NaNoNovel from 2011, and it features a brother and sister who are swept away into the world of dreams and in-betweens.  It has heavy influences from J.M. Barrie and L. Frank Baum, and I think it’s delightful.  Rereading it, it is much more delightful in my head.  The writing is rushed and blocky, the transitions are horrible… it needs a lot of work.  But that’s okay, because I need a project and this story is a fun, childish favorite of mine.

Camp NaNoWrimo begins on July 1st!

Leave a Reply

