I Can’t Wait For… Spectacle by Rachel Vincent – #Can’tWaitWednesday

cantwaitwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released.  Find out more here.


As I’ve just looked this up, this book actually came out on May 30th and I missed it!  After waiting two years!  I am slightly ashamed at missing that date… but… without further ado….

26806765

Spectacle

by Rachel Vincent

Series: Menagerie (2)
Genres: FantasyYoung Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Adult

Goodreads / LibraryThing

When their coup of Metzger’s Menagerie is discovered, Delilah and her fellow cryptids find their newly won freedom brutally stripped away as they are sold into The Savage Spectacle, a private collection of “exotic wildlife.” Specializing in ruthless cryptid cage matches, safari-style creature hunts and living party favors, the Spectacle’s owner, Willem Vandekamp, caters to the forbidden fetishes of the wealthy and powerful. At the Spectacle, any wish can be granted—for the right price. 

But Vandekamp’s closely guarded client list isn’t the only secret being kept at the Spectacle. Beneath the beauty and brutality of life in the collection lie much darker truths, and no one is more determined than Delilah to strip the masks from the human monsters and drag all dark things into the light.

.
Magical circuses are all the rage right now, and I know I’m a bit late since The Night Circus came out a couple years ago and I’m only now reading it, but… I’m in love.  Menagerie was my first magical circus experience, and I was immediately mesmerized by the mystery of Delilah’s species… and yes, well, anyway….

This will definitely be one of the books I pick up when my Audible credits come in next month!

Anyone looking forward to something special?  Have any great “magical circus” books to recommend?  I’m all ears!

6 thoughts on “I Can’t Wait For… Spectacle by Rachel Vincent – #Can’tWaitWednesday

    1. I just made my husband listen to the audiobook recently on our commute, so thankfully I don’t need a reread, but I get where you’re coming from! 🙂

  1. Although I truly am itching to return back into The Night Circus as like you, I did not get to immerse myself inside it whilst the rest of book world was singing it’s praises — sometimes our readerly lives are WIPs! lol I am unsure if this would be a second novel/series I should read myself – there are aspects of this which appeal but I worry it’s a step and a stone outside my comfort zone – similar to a book about Mutants I read a few years back. You might enjoy that one actually – here’s my review (as I had forgotten it too takes place centred round a circus environment!) of King of Mutants

    I am coming through the linky for #CantWaitWednesday whilst sharing my own #WaitingOnWednesday which was my first #unboxing!

Leave a Reply

