A Star Wars Confession – #BookBloggerHop

bookbloggerhop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Billy on Ramblings of a Coffee Addict.  Each week, bloggers answer a different question about their own lives or reading habits.


I haven’t done one of these in ages so it felt like time!

Today’s question is:

Do you read tie-in novels to movies or television series? If so, which ones?

The answer is yes.  I do.  Or, at least, I have.  I like to think I’m in recovery at this point… but this leads to a guilty confession:

At the end of my high school career, I was obsessed with the Star Wars: New Jedi Order series.

It’s not something I’m proud of.  Some of these books are genuinely intriguing, interesting, and engaging.  A lot of them are cliched and whiny.  I love Jaina Solo.  Thirteen years later, still think she and Mara Jade are fantastic.  I also thought many of the other characters were blah, and whiny.

So here’s where I give props:

  • It’s not easy taking a character someone else has written and keeping the voice consistent to the other author.
  • In order to remain canon (less relevant now that we’ve got The Force Awakens) these authors had to be well-read in the entire Star Wars universe.  There’s a lot of books in the extended universe.  A LOT.  You’ve got everything from Jedi to Wookies to bounty hunters to aliens running cantinas to the constantly developing cinematic universe and video game franchises… it’s a lot of work!

Now that said, I just can’t bring myself to read these anymore.  I can’t.  I tried to pick them up again after Episode VIII and I barely got through the book.  They’re too cliche for me, and I find them all a bit flat.  That’s okay though, because these authors who write tie-ins and extended universes have a score of major fans who will keep buying and reading their books.

There is one Star Wars book I refuse to give away.

Even Star Wars fans are going to hate this one.

*deep breath*

Okay.

I abso-freaking-lutely love Star Wars: Attack of the Clones by R.A. Salvatore.

Attack of the Clones*exhales*

There!  I said it!  You are all free to throw tomatoes at me now.

There’s a two-part reason for this.

  1. R.A. Salvatore is, in my opinion, a good writer.  He does a lot of “universe” stuff… I’ve read a couple of his Dungeons & Dragons universe books and I find him easy to read and original within his realm.
  2. I genuinely enjoyed Attack of the Clones.  Okay so stick with me here.  I was in seventh grade when the film came out.  My dad pulled me out of testing to go see a 2am premiere, my very first one.  As an adult, I can see the cheesiness of this film, the bad acting, and the plot holes.  As a middle-schooler… IT WAS AWESOME.  It just was.  I’m sorry.  Sort of.

My copy of this book has gone with me on vacations and amusement parks.  I’ve read it numerous times.  I’ve lent it to crushes (ah, high school) and friends.  It’s one of my most beat up books… the dust jacket is worn and a little torn.  It has been well-loved.

So the TL;DR version – why yes, I do read tie-ins. 🙂

8 thoughts on “A Star Wars Confession – #BookBloggerHop

  1. We pulled the kids out of school to take them to see the 3rd movie. I think we went to an early afternoon show and they were so excited! It was a lot of fun. It’s always such a risk to reread books we loved when we were younger. I’ve found that not all that many hold up but they were what I needed at the time so I’m still fond of them. To funny about The Force Awakens! I think I’d have to keep that one too. There’s just something about a well loved book that means it can’t be thrown out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

