Book Titles Tag (aka THIS IS ME…sort of)

BOOKTITLESTAG

Em over at the Keystroke Blog tagged me in this glorious tag, and I am super pumped.  I’ve never been tagged in a tag before! AAAHHH! … Overuse of the word “tag” aside, I really am excited.

SO I’M GONNA DO THE THING!

This tag is simple – pick a book whose title matches the prompt.  Some of these I had so many ideas on!  Others… not so much.  But this was a blast and thanks, Em, for the tag!


Title of the Story of Your Life

Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things that Happened by Allie Brosh

Hyperbole and a Half

My initial thought for this tag was USE SOMETHING WRITTEN BY LEMONY SNICKET!  THE BAD BEGINNING …no… WHEN DID YOU SEE HER LAST? …no… Ultimately I decided that not only does the title Hyperbole and a Half read into my flailing dramatic personality, but I relate to Allie Brosh in a lot of ways… including but not limited to depression and dinosaur costumes.

 

Title of Your Perfect Weekend

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

In this case more the title than the book itself… I love the water and the countryside and wouldn’t it just be deliciously wonderful to be able to stroll down the rural street and BOOM! OCEAN!  I would lay out my blanket and breathe in the salty air and just chilllllll.  As for the book itself, I didn’t love it… but lanes + ocean + relaxing = yes.

 

Title You Want to Name Your Child

 Nathaniel by John Saul & Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

I’M SORRY BUT I CAN’T REALLY TELL YOU OUR FIRST CHOICE NAMES!  …  Which is frustrating, because I know books immediately off the top of my head for each.

*sigh*

My husband and I have a deal:  NOBODY FINDS OUT THE NAMES UNTIL WE HAVE THE CHILDREN!  So far, we’ve been lucky in that nobody has ruined them for us, and nobody close to us has used the names (we got really close on the girl’s name, though).  Therefore, these are my second choices.

I have a rule in naming children – I want it to mean something to me.  So each name (first and middle) needs to be related to:

  1. a tolerable literary character; or
  2. an admirable historical figure.

Therefore, the boy’s name would actually pull from Jonathan Stroud’s Bartimaeus series (I’ve never read the John Saul book above; also WHY ARE THERE NOT MORE BOOKS WITH NATHANIEL IN THE TITLE), and the girl’s name… the girl’s name is Anne Shirley for sure.  I have so much literary love for that girl.

 

Title of Your Ideal Job

 The Book Jumper by Mechthild Gläser

The Book Jumper

With the exception of books like Lord of the Flies or The Handmaid’s Tale, I’d be down with this profession.

 

Title of a Place You’d Like to Visit

 The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

thenightcircusaudiobook

I have to 100% agree with Em on this one.  Followers of my blog know I just finished this one a few weeks ago and I am in love with it.  I love the mystery, the magic, and the spectacle of the Circus and would most likely end up a Rêveur.

 

Title of Your Love Life

 Just One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor

Just One Danmed Thing After Another

Haha, I couldn’t help it on this one, although I considered both Heartless and The Wise Man’s Fear.  In all seriousness, my husband and I have a pretty good marriage and we are mostly happy in our lives and in each other.  Everything in this world takes work, kiddos, and sometimes love really does seem like it’s always one damned thing after another. 🙂

Title of a Kingdom You’d Want to Rule

 The Wonderful Land of Oz by L. Frank Baum

The Wonderful Land of Oz

While I’m actually not in the market for a queenship, Oz seems nice.  Minimal death and warring and the sort, mostly just good, clean adventures.  What could possibly go wrong?

 

Title You’d Name Your Band

 The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

The Girl From Everywhere

I feel like I could make this work for Indie or Alt Rock.  Not that I music in the least!  My Rock Band’s band name is Zephyr which apparently is already a band name and I don’t like their music, so I couldn’t use that anyway, even if I did play/sing/something.  The Girl From Everywhere will do.


Since Em only did these eight, these are the eight I’m doing HOWEVER there’s a complete list over at Kristin Kraves Books with 15 total prompts for you overachievers out there!

And because tagging is fun (yay!) I’m going to tag a couple blogs to try this out!

  1. Fernanda @ The Wanderlust Reader
  2. Suzanne @ The Bookish Libra
  3. Cait @ Paper Fury (I KNOW SHE WON’T DO IT BUT A GIRL CAN DREAM!  … Right?)
  4. YOU! DO IT! (please, it’s fun).

If you DO decide to do this tag, please comment your blog post – I’d love to see it!

Peace out, mes amies

5 thoughts on “Book Titles Tag (aka THIS IS ME…sort of)

  1. Aww this is such a fun tag! THANKS FOR THINKING OF ME. 💕 I’ll put it on the to-do list I promise 😉 but I don’t know when it’ll happen just because BUSYNESS *cries* BUT I LOVED THIS and your answers made me laugh!! #1 is so relatable. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course you’re busy! YOU JUST WROTE A 110,000,000,000,000 WORD BOOK OVER THE WEEKEND, YOU BEAUTIFUL ANIMAL. You do you!

      Have you read Allie Brosh? SO MANY LOLS. Not that you need anything else on your TBR, but if you haven’t, get on that. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

