Happy Birthday Harry Potter! (The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag)

Happy 37th* birthday, Harry Potter!

*37, because in 2014 Rowling revealed he was almost 34.  I’M ON TOP OF THIS STUFF, GUYS!

harrypotterhedwighagridhappybirthday

Harry Potter has been one of the biggest literary influences of my life.  Harry gave me something to talk about to friends, Harry taught me grammar, Harry taught me to fight for what I believe in.  This is a story a lot of people have shared, so I’ll spare the HARRY POTTER IS MY LIFE GUYZ! sappy story, because I bet a lot of you share it.

In honor of Harry Potter’s birthday this year (which is also the bubbly starting point of most the books), I’m going to do the Ultimate Harry Potter Tag.  I found this over on Fandoms on the Run.  I challenge all the Potter fans out there to give it a go!

FAVORITE BOOK?

prisonerofazkaban

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, hands down.  Love the DADA teacher, love Hermione standing up to Malfoy, love Sirius and the Dementors.

LEAST FAVORITE BOOK?

siriusblackharrypotterorderofthephoenixdeptmysteries

HARRY POTTER AND THE ORDER OF THE PHOENIX.  IT MAY HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH ALLCAPS!HARRY BUT I’M NOT SURE……

FAVORITE MOVIE?

tumblr_o50x7pzhzu1us26rpo1_500Also Prisoner of Azkaban.  I know a lot of people didn’t like this one, but again with the whole punching Malfoy thing, and the Marauders… yes please.

 

LEAST FAVORITE MOVIE?

ronhermioneno

Half-Blood Prince for sure.  The decision to take one of the darker books and give the film adaptation a PG rating (the last several had been PG-13) was a poor one.

FAVORITE QUOTE

weasleytwinsfireworksnoregrets

From the films, it’s the one I use as my tagline… but from the books?

GIVE HER HELL, PEEVES.

FAVORITE WEASLEY?

wickedweasleytwinsfredgeorge

I feel like I sort of answered this one above. 🙂  The Weasley twins, for sure.

FAVORITE FEMALE CHARACTER?

tumblr_lzcvl8mez01r3h4ef

As much as I adore Hermione, this one has to go to Luna Lovegood.  But it’s really, really close.

FAVORITE VILLAIN?

giphy9Okay, so they’re not the most villainous, but I really like their twisted family dynamic.  Umbridge is too infuriating and Bellatrix is too crazy.

 

FAVORITE MALE CHARACTER

tenor6

Back to the Weasley twins!  YES I AM COUNTING THEM AS ONE CHARACTER.  I’m always game for the characters that make me laugh.  This answer has evolved, though – once upon a time I’d say Draco or Ron.

FAVORITE PROFESSOR

rusgiphy8

Professor Lupin.  He was easily the best DADA professor they ever had.  Extra points for werewolf, Marauder, and relationship with Tonks.

WOULD YOU RATHER

A) wash Snape’s hair or B) spend a day listening to Lockhart rant about himself?

lockhartgiggles

Oh gosh, neither.  But I’d probably go with Lockhart.  Sorry guys, I’ve just never liked Snape and GREASY HAIR IS THE WORST.

WOULD YOU RATHER DUEL…

A) an elated Bellatrix or B) an angry Molly?

bellatrixexcitedescape

Bellatrix.  At least I’d be fighting evil!

WOULD YOU RATHER TRAVEL TO HOGWARTS VIA…

A) Hogwarts Express or B) Flying Car?

tenor8

The Hogwarts Express!  I rather like trains and get really car sick… I imagine that would be worse in a flying car.

WOULD YOU RATHER…

A) Kiss Voldemort or B) give Umbridge a bubble bath?

giphy10

OMG, ew.  I will be giving NOBODY a bubble bath!  Voldemort it is then? *closes eyes*

WOULD YOU RATHER…

A) ride a Hippogriff or B) ride a Firebolt?

giphy11

A Hippogriff seems a lot more comfortable than a broom, in my opinion.

IS THERE A CHARACTER YOU FELT DIFFERENTLY ABOUT IN THE MOVIES?

tenor9

Ginny Weasley.  She was strong and interesting and intelligent in the books.  In the films, she’s 100% there as Harry’s (later) love interest.  GAH.

IS THERE A MOVIE YOU PREFERRED TO THE BOOK?

giphy12

YES.  Order of the Phoenix!  I thought the film – despite leaving a bunch of stuff out – was fairly well done and Harry was surprisingly tolerable.

RICHARD HARRIS OR MICHAEL GAMBON?

8297976e53a9b613843887995c3caa0f792ee000_hq

I think they were both solidly good, but in different ways.  I do believe that Harris would have adapted just fine as Dumbledore changed if he had been able to continue the role.

TOP PERSON OR THING FROM THE BOOKS THAT WASN’T IN THE FILM

harrymyrtleawkardexcitedembarrassed

I know this is a stupid one to latch on, but I really, really missed Peeves.  Every time he pops up in the books, it amuses the heck out of me.

WHICH FILM WOULD YOU REMAKE

giphy14

Absolutely the Half-Blood Prince.  Make it relevant to the book in more than two scenes.  SO. SO FRUSTRATING.

WHICH HOUSE DID YOU THINK YOU’D BE SORTED INTO

giphy15

Ravenclaw!  There were times, like Harry, where I thought, Maybe Slytherin?  But no.  Ultimately not that ambitious.

WHICH HOUSE DID POTTERMORE SORT YOU INTO

giphy16

Ravenclaw!  CALLED IT.

In all seriousness, tho… it was a nerve-wracking experience.  WHAT IF I WASN’T RAVENCLAW?!  … what if I was sorted into Hufflepuff……..  WHO AM I?

But it was Ravenclaw, so an identity crisis was averted.

WHICH CLASS WOULD BE YOUR FAVORITE?

giphy17

I think that Transfiguration always sounded like a lot of fun and really neat.  DADA came in second, depending on the professor.

WHICH SPELL WOULD BE MOST USEFUL TO LEARN?

neville-longbottom-petrificus-totalus

A lot of them!  Accio is good, but so is reparo, and though it’s not particularly useful, I am partial to petrificus totalus.

WHICH CHARACTER WOULD YOU INSTANTLY BEFRIEND

tenor10

Every fiber of my being wants to say Hermione, but I don’t think that’s necessarily true.  In real life, I’m meg awkward, so probably Luna Lovegood.

WHICH OF THE HALLOWS WOULD YOU WANT TO OWN

giphy18

The Invisibility Cloak seems dead useful, so I’d want that.

IS THERE ANY ASPECT OF THE BOOKS YOU’D LIKE TO CHANGE

tumblr_luplo1jufz1qfshva

… Yes.  And it’s an unpopular decision.  I’d really, really like to take back The Cursed Child.  It feels so awkward and the characters don’t seem properly like themselves… and I dunno.  It reads like fan fiction and I hated it.  Maybe I’d like it better on stage, but I don’t see me going to London any time soon.

FAVORITE MARAUDER

95293be0-d97b-0133-f113-0a6c20e5e327

Padfoot!  BACK IN THE DAY when fan fiction was still cool (actually was that ever a thing… um…) I used to love writing Sirius’ parts.  I thought he was the trickster of the group.

WHICH CHARACTER WOULD YOU BRING BACK TO LIFE

axieog1

This is a really hard one for me.  Ultimately, I would have to go with Fred Weasley.  George and he were two parts of one whole and losing the other was heartbreaking.  Lupin and Tonks are a close second.

HALLOWS OR HORCRUXES

giphy19

Hallows.  I can’t bear the idea of cutting out a part of my soul.  I feel like that would be emotionally traumatizing, and to be less than a whole person afterwards… immortality is NOT worth it.


ONE LAST THING!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY J.K. ROWLING!

mbaqlwz

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Harry Potter! (The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag)

  1. I love when people refer to Harry from OOTP as ALLCAPS Harry. So true! 😂 I’d forgotten about Peeves being cut from the films – that was definitely a bad decision. I’m seeing Cursed Child in London this December so I’ll let you know if it plays out any better on stage.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess I understand Peeves’ cut from a cost standpoint, as well as the fact that he doesn’t really add anything to the plot, but I liked him, you know? We silly readers get attached to things!

      I’d love to hear about your experience with Cursed Child! Plays don’t always read well off the stage for me, and I know people have really loved it and that it’s received awards.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh man this post brought back all the feels and i can’t brain anymore!! I Agree about the horcruxes though…it’s just not worth it. Just look at Voldy hahaha. And EW WASH SNAPES HAIR WHO THOUGHT OF THAT. These choices are not very good ones hahaha
    I do have to say that as much as i LOOOOOOOVE padfoot (LIKE I REALLY REALLY LOVE HIM OKAY) my favorite marauder is Prongs because I have a weird obsession with antlers. THEY ARE SO MAGESTIC.
    I freaking love this post D:D:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HAHA, I’m glad you enjoyed it. You know I never much got attached to James but there are SO MANY people who love his character! Also a lot of slash Sirius/James fanfic, if I recall….

      I KNOW RIGHT? Who in the world sat down and thought “I wonder what it would be like to TOUCH Snape’s hair?” … let alone wash it? Ew, ew, ew.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I loooooove Sirius too! Idk I always felt so bad for Harry that he had no parents, and it was so precious to me that his dad was basically protecting him *starts to cry again*

        I DON’T WANT TO THINK ABOUT WHAT IT IS LIKE TO TOUCH HIS HAIR. OR GO ANYWHERE NEAR HIM.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

