“The Lady of the Rivers” by Philippa Gregory

bookreview

Jacquetta’s story starts with a friendship with Joan of Arc and ends with a vision of her daughter’s ascendance to queendom.  All in all, I really enjoyed this book and find it one of my favorites of Gregory’s.


theladyoftheriversThe Lady of the Rivers

by Philippa Gregory

❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎

Series: The Cousins’ War (3, by release)
Genres: Historical, Fiction
Published By: Simon & Schuster in 2011
Format: Hardcover (443 pages)

goodreads librarything publisher author

summary

Descended from Melusina, the river goddess, Jacquetta has always had the gift of second sight. As a child visiting her uncle, she meets his prisoner, Joan of Arc, and sees her own power reflected in the young woman accused of witchcraft, before Joan is taken to a horrific death at the hands of the English rulers of France.

Married to the Duke of Bedford, English Regent of France, Jacquetta is introduced by him to a mysterious world of learning and alchemy. Her only friend in the great household is the Duke’s squire, Richard Woodville, who is at her side when the Duke’s death leaves her a wealthy young widow. The two become lovers and marry in secret, returning to England to serve at the court of the young King Henry VI, where Jacquetta becomes a close and loyal friend to his new queen.

The Woodvilles soon achieve a place at the very heart of the Lancaster court, though Jacquetta can sense the growing threat from the people of England and the danger of royal rivals. Not even their courage and loyalty can keep the House of Lancaster on the throne. King Henry VI slides into a mysterious sleep; Margaret, his queen, turns to untrustworthy favorites for help; and Richard, Duke of York, threatens to overturn the whole kingdom for his rival dynasty of the House of York.

Jacquetta fights for her king, her queen, and for her daughter Elizabeth Woodville, a young woman for whom Jacquetta can sense an extraordinary and unexpected future: a change of fortune, the throne of England, and the white rose of York. A sweeping, powerful story rich in passion and legend and drawing on years of research, The Lady of the Rivers tells the story of the real-life mother to the White Queen.

review

After reading The Red Queen, I put off reading this book because I was so bored with the Cousins’ War.  Not Gregory’s writing… just the war itself told over again through different eyes.  This was not that part of the story and Jacquetta, surprisingly, is not that kind of girl.

Characters

❤︎

I really liked Jacquetta.  She is kinder and more genuine than the other women in Gergory’s novels.  Margaret, on the other hand, has the same childishness as women like Anne Boleyn.  Both women’s stories were interesting.  I especially loved the beginning of the book.  Joan of Arc!  Totally unexpected.

World

❤︎

It goes without saying that Philippa Gregory rocks this period of England.  Her historical fiction is always well-researched and her fictionalizion passable.  From the English weather to the small townsfolk (I really loved the detail of the scene where Jacquetta spent the night with the blacksmith’s family), she illustrates her world well.

Story

❤︎

I see four womens’ stories entwined in this book.  Jacquetta, of course.  Margaret of Anjou grows from a hopeful child to a vicious queen.  Joan of Arc’s turn of the Wheel of Fortune.  And we see the rise of Elizabeth’s Woodville’s star.  I kept waiting for Margaret to win something, but she didn’t.  I suppose in some ways, this should have been predictable, but I kept rooting for her anyway.  Glutton for punishment.

Writing / Narration

❤︎

I really like the way Gregory writes, so I am going to say this was good.  That said, a friend of mine pointed out that some of the writing in this book was inconsistent with the character’s behavior in other stories, so I feel that is worth noting.  I actually agree with her, but I didn’t mind it.

Personal Thoughts

❤︎

After The Constant Princess, this is my favorite of Gregory’s novels.  There’s a lot less deception and intrigue than usually pops up, and the story revolved more around alchemy, battles, and fear.  I though it was a great change.  Additionally, Joan of Arc was a +10 for me, as well as the history of Melusina, whom I wanted to know more about when I read The White Queen.  All in all, a solid read, and a keeper.

source

I purchased this book on ThirftBooks.  I also have a digital audiobook copy on Audible.

favoritequotes

“The wheel of fortune […] tells us that we all only want victory. We all want to triumph. But we all have to learn to endure what comes. We have to learn to treat misfortune and great fortune with indifference. That is wisdom.”

“Once more, I am watching the most powerful men in the kingdom bring their power to bear on a woman who has done nothing worse than live to the beat of her own heart, see with her own eyes; but this is not their tempo nor their vision and they cannot tolerate any other.”

“In a way. Magic is the act of making a wish come about. Like praying, like plotting, like herbs, like exerting your will on the world, making something happen.”

“I put the charm bracelet away in the purse and return it to my jewel case. I don’t need a spell to foresee the future; I am going to make it happen.”

“She tried to live like an ordinary woman, but some women cannot live an ordinary life.”

alternativecovers

recommended

All in all, I’d recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Philippa Gregory’s other works, Tudor England, and historical fiction.  It’s particularly well suited for fans of The Queen’s Fool, The Taming of the Queen and The Other Boleyn Girl.

thequeensfool   The Taming of the Queen   37470


amazon barnesandnoble indiebound bookdepository

Advertisements

One thought on ““The Lady of the Rivers” by Philippa Gregory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s