“Bloodlines” by Richelle Mead

audiobookreview

Bloodlines is a spin-off novel of Richelle Mead’s popular VAMPIRE ACADEMY series and is best read afterwards.  I found the characters annoying and the plot just barely interesting enough to finish the book.


bloodlinesaudioBloodlines

by Richelle Mead

Narrated by Emily Shaffer

❤︎ ❤︎

Series: Bloodlines (1)
Genres: Vampires, Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal
Published By: Penguin Audiobooks in 2013
Original Publication: Penguin Books in 2011 (US Hardcover Edition)
Format: Digital Audiobook (12 hours, 53 minutes)
Source: Overdrive

goodreads librarything publisher author

summary

The first book in Richelle Mead’s brand-new teen fiction series – set in the same world as Vampire Academy.When alchemist Sydney is ordered into hiding to protect the life of Moroi princess Jill Dragomir, the last place she expects to be sent is a human private school in Palm Springs, California. But at their new school, the drama is only just beginning.  Populated with new faces as well as familiar ones, Bloodlines explores all the friendship, romance, battles and betrayals that made the #1 New York Times bestselling Vampire Academy series so addictive – this time in a part-vampire, part-human setting where the stakes are even higher and everyone’s out for blood.

review

I really wanted to like this book.  Going into it, my attitude was very positive.  I almost immediately found myself out-of-the-loop, and when I thought I could latch on to Sydney as a likable character, that failed me, too.  I was determined to push through it, waiting for the tides to turn, and they just didn’t.  I’m sorry!  I wanted to be all up in the YEAHHHH NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WUT! of this book, but … I can’t.

Characters

Sydney. … Sydney, Sydney, Sydney.  I really though I was going to like this character.  I thought she and I were going to be badass strigoi butt-kicking pals.  Unfortunately, Sydney is too busy doing her own thing, not knowing how to handle basic human interactions, worrying about how she can have the perfect body, and generally being a bubbly popular school nerd to hang out.  FINE WHATEVER I’LL FIND ANOTHER CHARACTER.

The problem was, I didn’t.  At times, I found Adrian tolerable, but mostly he’s just a hot mess.  Jill is whiny and pathetic.  Lee is too sugary (also evil), Keith is twisted and horrible, Clarence is loco… I’m running out of characters here!

World

❤︎

I’ll give it to Mead, I do like her world.  I’m game for vampires, especially those that don’t sparkle, mope, or French kiss excessively.  I like the additional levels of supernatural persons she’s added:  strigoi, moroi, dhampir, alchemist, human.  I don’t even mind the boarding school environment.  She’s clearly well organized in her different classes, behaviors, and political systems, and it makes the world feel believable.

Story

❤︎

I really wanted to know what was going on with those tattoos.  I wanted to stop reading the first time Sydney complained about being a size 2/4 (WHY ARE YOU GIVING THESE YOUNG WOMEN IMAGE COMPLEXES WE HAVE ENOUGH PROBLEMS), but there were the weird comments about the tattoos and SERIOUSLY I KNOW HOW IT’S GOING TO END JUST TELL ME I’M RIGHT OKAY THERE ARE OTHER BOOKS.  The various strains of the plot and character behaviors were enormously predictable.  I did think that the two plots she ended up focusing on would be related as ONE BIG PLOT but I was wrong there, silly me.

Also, unless you count a wee bit of bullying revenge, this book was not about protecting Jill.  It explains their living arrangements, but is not the story.  DECEPTIVE SUMMARY – I EXPECTED MORE IMPALINGS.

Writing / Narration

Unfortunately for Mead, I started reading this right after Em @ Keystroke Blog posted about the Green Eye Epidemic.  GUESS WHAT.  Almost all the characters in this story are blonde.  And they have either blue or green eyes… except apparently Sydney who has *ahem* eyes like molten GOLD. … I don’t think that’s a thing, and weird eye colors haven’t been established as part of this universe (right?), so WHY.

It’s written in such a way that if you haven’t read the Vampire Academy series, you feel immediately lost.  A good spinoff should stand on its own (see:  everything Tamora Pierce writes).  She also didn’t weave the plots together very well.  She focused on one thing at a time, and it took FOREVER to go back to the things that interests me.

Then, as if to entice you to the next book, she awkwardly throws in a mystery.  HAHA NOW YOU HAVE TO READ THE SEQUEL!!! …  …  Yeah, no.

Personal Thoughts

This book was not for me.  I can see how Adrian fangirls would run to this series because he gets a good amount of screentime, but I want MORE.  I want to like Sydney!  I think she had a lot of character potential to be really awesome, and honestly the girl ought to know at least self-defense techniques.  But instead she was just… clueless.  I hate to see what her sister would have been like in that position.  Wow.

All complaints aside, this book was not enough to turn me off of reading Vampire Academy.  I am still interested in this world, and from other reviews I’ve read, this is not Richelle Mead’s strongest work.  So, okay.  I’ll try another series.  But that’s the last chance she gets!

firstsentence

“I couldn’t breathe.”

favoritequotes

“The greatest changes in history have come when people were able to shake off what others told them to do.”

“I used to think you were weak and just didn’t fight back … but now, honestly, I think you’re actually pretty tough. It takes a hell of a lot of strength to not complain and lash out.”

recommended

I think that fans of Mead’s Vampire Academy series will enjoy these books.  In addition, Melissa de la Cruz fans (Blue Bloods) will probably like Bloodlines.  This should also appeal those those who enjoyed Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series, and perhaps those who liked Twilight or P.C. & Kristin Cast’s House of Night series.

Vampire Academy   Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz   City of Bones   Twilight   Marked by PC Cast and Kristin Cast


amazon barnesandnoble indiebound bookdepository audible

5 thoughts on ““Bloodlines” by Richelle Mead

  1. I agree with you 100%. I LOVED Vampire Academy but this series just wasn’t up to par in my opinion. I also disliked Sydney and Jill for the longest time. I will say that the books do get better with each installment. Love the review! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank goodness, I was sort of feeling like a jerk about it. I really, REALLY wanted to like Sydney. Maybe I’ll decide to revisit it after the Vampire Academy books once I feel more acquainted with everyone. 🙂

      Like

  2. Eeep, sadness that this didn’t work for you! It sounds like a bit of a hot mess, tbh. I tried to read two of Richelle Mead’s newer books and I just??? I don’t get the hype.🙈🙊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well we can’t love ALL the books, can we? The Glittering Court novels make me twitch a little, and I’ve only read the blurbs. Nope, if she doesn’t draw me in with Vampire Academy, we’re getting a divorce.

      Like

Leave a Reply

