Top 5 Book Worlds I Want to Live In – #Top5Tuesday

I’ve decided to jump on the bandwagon with the Top 5 weekly feature over on The Bionic Book Worm!  I’ve been seriously missing my Top 10s from Broke & Bookish, so this should tide me over for a while… who knows!  Maybe I’ll stick around! 😉

This week’s topic is:

“Top 5 Book Worlds I Want to Live In”

At first glance, this is easy.  Then you realize things like:  OBVIOUSLY I DON’T WANT TO LIVE IN PANEM THAT IS A TERRIBLE IDEA.

So after much logical thinking, I’ve ruled out ALL the dystopias… and here goes.

Tortall

Song of the Lioness, The Immortals, Protector of the Small, Daughter of the Lioness, & Provost’s Dog by Tamora Pierce

tortall_1

Tortall and the Carthaki Empire were my second home growing up.  I would love to see the Cooper Isles and the Emerald Ocean and all of it.  I would even settle for a movie or television series.  ARE YOU LISTENING NETFLIX?!  HBO?!  SOMEONE TAKE MY MONEY.

OASIS

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

florian-de-gesincourt-degesart-sk0010-playerone-j-deges1500

A virtual reality land is close to tangible anyway, these days, but I love the layout of OASIS.  It’s like an MMORPG but references so much of my childhood, be still my beating heart. ❤

Le Cirque des Rêves

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

capture

Although The Night Circus is based in our own world, it’s an alternate version where there are wishing trees and ice gardens and generally ANYONE can learn magic with the right teacher.  Yes, please.

Hogwarts

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

hogwartscastle_wb_f4_hogwartsthroughthetrees_illust_100615_land

While not technically a magical land, once again it’s written to be a secret, inaccessible part of our universe.  And, like every bookworm since 1997, I would like to go there.  I want to see the moving staircases and the giant squid (maybe…) and the Forbidden Forest and WHERE IS MY OWL DAMMIT.

Wonderland

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

queensland
Probably not this version of Underland Wonderland though….

Wonderland is a world completely made from the chaotic imagination of a little girl.  There are no whys, no wherefores… no ups or downs.  It is filled with impossible things.  I wouldn’t terribly mind to join Haigha and Hatter for tea.  And I’m pretty sure I could outfox the Red Queen.


Speak to me, my lovelies!

Would you travel to any of these places if you could?  Which ones would you prefer to go to?  What sort of tea would you drink with Hatter?  And would you also have a scone?  Let me know! ❤

21 thoughts on “Top 5 Book Worlds I Want to Live In – #Top5Tuesday

  1. I have always said I’d answer with Night Circus because the world just sounds straight up amazing — even though it’s basically ours with magical embellishments. And based on how happy I get from HP World in Orlando, I can only imagine how the real thing would feel! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oooo, that is something I will definitely look into next time I am down there. Of course last time we were there during April vacation/spring break, so it was extra crowded anyway! Were you able to get butterbeer? That line was about 70 people deep last time I saw it. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah we stayed at a hotel on park property which grants you free admission an hour early every day to the park! We went straight to the Gringotts ride to avoid what we knew would be an eventual massive line and got frozen Butterbeer (the only proper way to drink it) afterwards once the park started opening to the public! I’ve NEVER seen the lines for Butterbeer that long since they sell it so many places, but I didn’t go on Spring Break either! Hope you get to go back and try some!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing list!! I thought about adding in The Oasis but I put it aside for something else. But the Oasis has so many possibilities! And Wonderland would be incredible but I would find myself getting into a lot of trouble. Someone tells me not to so something so I do it out of spite – I would end up horribly deformed and small as an ant or something!
    Thanks so much for participating! I’ve added you to the list 🙂

    Like

    1. Haha, I am definitely not fit enough to survive in Panem, or within the Insurgent or Maze Runner worlds and so forth. I suppose calmer dystopias are possible though! (Fahrenheit 451 comes to mind – SAVE ALL THE BOOKS.)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. YOU POOR POOR PERSON! I did have a friend growing up and we would snag all Tamora Pierce’s books and read them forever THEN my randomly assigned college roommate was ALSO a big fan! She’s got a series rumored to center around Numair (The Immortals) and I am so excited I CAN’T WAIT.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

