I Can’t Wait For… “Turtles All the Way Down” by John Green

cantwaitwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released.  Find out more here.


Turtles All the Way Down

Turtles All the Way Down

by John Green

Series: Standalone
Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Contemporary

goodreads

librarything

author

publisher

summary

It all begins with a fugitive billionaire and the promise of a cash reward.

Turtles All the Way Down is about lifelong friendship, the intimacy of an unexpected reunion, Star Wars fan fiction, and tuatara. But at its heart is Aza Holmes, a young woman navigating daily existence within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.

In his long-awaited return, John Green shares Aza’s story with shattering, unflinching clarity.


I feel compelled to note: I was reading John Green’s work before The Fault in Our Stars.  I remember sitting down at rehearsal one evening back in 2009 and flying through Paper Towns.  For fans, the wait between books has always felt eternal.  I swallowed up all his works over the course of a week or two, then joined other fans in the long anticipation of The Fault in Our Stars.

Then, The Fault in Our Stars climbed up the NYT best-seller list and stayed there!  His fan-base grew out of Nerdfighteria and into half the United States and then some.  It was well deserved, too.  That book told the sweet tale of two kids struggling with cancer in a world where we don’t like to talk about kids with terminal illness.  On a political level, it brought much-needed awareness.  On a literary level, Green’s portrayal of Hazel and Gus was so raw and real and relatable.  So there may have been thousands waiting with me last time, but now, there’s got to be half a million.

That is a LOT of pressure to write a good book.  But you know what?  I think he’ll do just fine.  And I don’t typically go for contemporary YA lit!

For those of you who, like me, are really looking forward to reading this in October, I leave you with one of the Green brothers’ recent tweets regarding the book.

I also want to acknowledge this beautiful fan art by Risa. If you like her work, you can find it here.


Speak to me, my lovelies!

Are you looking forward to Turtles All the Way Down?  Have you read any of John Green’s other books?  If so, which one did you like best?  Do you think there will be an actual turtle in the book?

20 thoughts on “I Can’t Wait For… “Turtles All the Way Down” by John Green

  1. The only JG book I’ve read is Fault In Our Stars (which I didn’t really love), but I keep hearing amazing things about all of his books, and I can’t help be excited for this one! All the excitement around me is starting to rub off!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I liked An Abundance of Katherines best, but Paper Towns is a close second. I’m not crazy about Looking for Alaska which a LOT of people I know love! If you do pick up Turtles, I hope you like it better than Fault!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll have to look into An Abundance of Katherines! I’ve heard a lot of people say that one was their favorite, so maybe I’ll like that more! And yes! I hope I like Turtles better too!!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! I keep reminding myself that it’s not the final one, because I get a little disappointed when I look at it. I’m a HUGE fan of the cover art!

      Thanks for swinging by!

      Like

    1. Thanks! I would recommend trying one! My personal favorite is An Abundance of Katherines but most people really like Looking for Alaska or The Fault in Our Stars, 😀

      Like

  2. I’m not a massive fan of John Green, but I might pick this up eventually. I just haven’t been able to connect to his characters as much as I have wanted. But it is awesome that John is getting so much support after not having published in so long. It’s good to see his fan base is so loyal! Great pick this week. 😀 Here is my WoW!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. His fan base is really incredible. Him and his brother Hank have built what feels like an entire subculture and everyone is really supportive of each other there. Thanks, I’ll peek in!

      Like

    1. He gets a bad rap? I need to talk to these people, srsly. *eye roll* Isn’t it sad how some folks jump off the bandwagon for no reason other than popularity? John seems the same as ever. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. *raises hand* MEEEEE. I’M SO SO EXCITED FOR IT!! I’ve loved ALL his other books and I love his writing style/tone and I feel like this book is going to be pretty personal!? So I’m sooo keen for it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

