How I Choose My Books Tag!

Bonjour, mes amis

The stunning Darque Dreamer tagged me earlier this week in her fabulous How I Choose My Books tag, and I’m excited to bring you the world of my bookshelf!  This tag comes originally from The Bookish Underdog.  Grab a sweet iced tea and a couple of lemon cookies, get comfy, and enjoy the ride. 😉

img_4384
This image shamelessly stolen from Howling Libraries.

 

Find a book on your shelves with a blue cover. What made you pick up the  book in the first place?

Midnight ThiefMidnight Thief

by Olivia Blackburne

This book was originally voted through the book club I used to participate in at my work.  I had no idea that the cover was blue at the time and simply picked it up because the Book Club Leader sent the book-of-the-month email.  HOWEVER.  I like the cover and the door marker and it seems like precisely the sort of book I would have picked up, anyway.

I don’t have a review posted of this book (it was part of the crazy, rebellious stage when I was reading and not blogging/posting/anything about it.  I did genuinely like the book, though, and I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads.  Looking through the reviews now, that seems to be a controversial decision.

Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

Blue Bloods by Melissa de la CruzBlue Bloods

by Melissa de la Cruz

This is my favorite why-in-the-world-do-I-even-like-this book.  There’s love triangle and snobby rich characters, and too much drama for my usual tastes.  Besides all that, there was insufficient impaling for a book that was about vampires (OR SO I THOUGHT).  AND YET I HAVE READ THE NEXT FOUR BOOKS IN THE SERIES.  … And, frankly, I have every intention of continuing on with it, I just haven’t gotten there yet.

You can read my original review here.  It’s horrifically out of date and not formatted properly.  I gave it 4 stars.

Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random. How did you discover this book?

Terrier by Tamora PierceTerrier

by Tamora Pierce

If I could only meet one author ever and learn all his/her secrets, it would be Tamora Pierce (I BET YOU WERE THINKING I’D SAY J.K. ROWLING!!! HAHA, NOPE).  I have been reading her books since forever.  Forever being probably, erm, fourth grade?  It’s all so blurry when you’re in your late 20s!  …  But anyway, when her new series was announced, Terrier was a MUST HAVE.  And when she writes another series in Tortall, I shall have that one, too.

You can read my original review here.  I gave it 3 stars BUT continued reading the trilogy and liked the other books better.

Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

Artemis FowlArtemis Fowl

by Eoin Colfer

This one took a bit of thinking, because I’m typically the one recommending books to my friends.  Not that I wouldn’t take their suggestions, it just doesn’t come up.  Finally I remembered that waaaay back in high school, a friend of mine at the time told me I HAD to read the Artemis Fowl series.  The first book, to be honest, I didn’t love at the time.  But I ended up reading the whole series and grew to really love it.  It was one of the last running series from my childhood, and I was bummed when it ended.

I read this book long before I was keeping track of what books I’ve read, but I’ve overall given it 4 stars on Goodreads, which seems legit to me.

Pick a book you discovered through book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

The Night CircusThe Night Circus

by Erin Morgenstern

I could not for the life of me tell you where I first saw it, but I know the internet and book blogs were my original source for The Night Circus.  It was all over the blogosphere when it first came out.  Literally, I feel like I could not go on to WordPress without seeing “I AM SO EXCITED FOR THE NIGHT CIRCUS” or “A MAGICAL CIRCUS TAKE MY MONEY” or something of that cheery sort.  And it certainly has a good reputation.  And, as you follower monkeys know, I LOVE it.  Love, love, love.

You can read my review here.  All the freaking stars.

Find a book on your shelves with a one word title. What drew you to this book?

WiredWired

by Robin Wasserman

My logic with most books, honestly, is pretty basic.  Does the title sound cool? Yup.  Does the cover look intriguing? Yup.  Does the summary not annoy me? Yup.  Okay I guess I’ll read it then.  I’ve gotten a little more dignified and I check my Goodreads now and skim a few high/low reviews and those from my friends and see if the mentioned elements are annoying enough to output me.  And I use the “Will You Like It?” meter on LibraryThing to help my prioritize.  Back in the day, though… just the first three questions.  This entire series was purchased at the same time, and FUN FACT all three books have one-word titles.  This is book three.

I don’t have a posted review on this book, but I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads.  SOLID ending.

What book did you discover through a film/TV adaptation?

The Hitchhiker's Trilogy by Douglas AdamsThe Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

by Douglas Adams

Well, this is a bit humiliating.

love this series, I think it is positively HILARIOUS and although it was on my radar, I hadn’t really thought about reading it until the film came out.  From what I’ve heard from die-hard Adams fans, this was probably for the best.  Having seen the film before reading the book, I genuinely enjoy both of them.  Most H2G2 fans I’ve met DESPISE the film for being different from the book.  This is something book lovers have been dealing with forever, guys, it’s nothing personal!

You can see my (really old) review of the whole series here.  Stars vary depending on the book, but I think it was a solid 4 overall.

Think of your all-time favorite books. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

This is a horrible question to ask a bookworm and I’m not going to answer it.  HOW DARE YOU MAKE ME PICK FAVORITES!  Seriously, though, I have 75 books on my Favorites Shelf on Goodreads and I have trouble even settling on my Top Ten. So no.

I pick up books because they speak to me, in one way or the other.  Sometimes they’re on sale.  Sometimes I pull them off library shelves at random.  Sometimes I research a lot.  Sometimes everyone else has read them and I want to as well.  Sometimes to learn something.  Sometimes to try out the books that are considered timeless and find out why.  Every person chooses books for either really personal reasons, social reasons, or random reasons.  All that matters is that you find your groove and love what you read. ❤


Tagging!

Lauren @ Bookmark Lit

Birdie Bookworm

Michelle @ Fit Kitty Mama

An Historian About Town

And, as always, anyone is welcome to participate!  Have fun, ye chimeras* and griffins* and wee sphinxlings*.

 

*(I’ve decided all my followers are mythical creatures and monsters… that’s cool, right?)

7 thoughts on “How I Choose My Books Tag!

Leave a Reply

