Blog Spotlight: Wonderland Recipes

BEFORE YOU ALL RUN AWAY SCREAMING ABOUT HOW THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A BOOK BLOG.

Every once and a while, I want to take a moment to highlight a blog that I really enjoy, think is creative and clever, or one that I just feel like sharing with you.  I was chatting in the comments of Saturday’s post about food in writing and how it is awesome, and I remembered this blog I started following a few years ago when I mistakenly believed I could food!blog (it was a terrible idea).  It was AMAZING because it combined my two favorite things:  food, and book.

SEE, RELEVANT.

11650821_10204531697874846_1183375498_npurewhitebackground-e1464445568207

Alison’s Wonderland Recipes is a blog dedicated to reading books, and inventing recipes to go along with them.  At the time I started following her, she was cooking up Tom Sawyer and Star Wars.  Every month, she picks a different book and cooks up entrees, sides, desserts – anything that inspires her!  Most the time, these are foods mentioned directly in the books themselves.

Here are a few treats to try (pictures link to the recipe):

series-of-unfortunate-events-coconut-cake-d-5290-700x418

Uncle Monty’s Coconut Cake from The Reptile Room by Lemony Snickett

little-women-jo-gingerbread-d-2687-768x445

Jo’s Christmas Gingerbread from Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

tom-sawyer-honey-bacon-cornbread-sd-9464-768x647

Missouri-Style Cornbread with Bacon from The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

Note:  I’ve actually made this recipe and it is perfectly delicious.

If these pictures aren’t proof enough of how awesome her blog is, head on over to Alison’s Wonderland Recipes and take a peek at the rest of what she has to offer.  If you like books and you like food, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

And if you really like all this, you’ll be happy to know she’s working on a “literary cookbook” with Skyhorse Publishing.  Is that cool or what?  It’s specifically intended for teatime, so, um, YES.

Please check out Alison’s blog and give her some love. 🙂 ❤

‘Til tomorrow, my wee dragonmites!

2 thoughts on “Blog Spotlight: Wonderland Recipes

Leave a Reply

