BAM! POW! ZAP! Insta-Reads from Buzzwords – #Top5Tuesdays

Good morning my sweet centaurs!

I bounced back and forth about whether or not I was going to participate in this week’s top five, as buzzwords aren’t really my thing.  When I thing buzzwords, I think phrases like “wildly popular” and “long-anticipated” etc. etc.  Then I decided, ANY word can be a buzz word if it gives me that warm, bumblebee feeling in my bones.

As always, Top 5 Tuesdays are hosted by Shanah @ The Bionic Bookworm, and her prompt is:

Top 5 buzzwords that make me want to read a book.

Pirate

piratesmileevilthoughtsjack

I am a sucker for pirate books, and there aren’t enough of them.  I don’t get it.  WHAT IS NOT EPICLY ADVENTUROUS ABOUT THE HIGH SEAS AND SWASHBUCKLING!  I’m actually starting to see a wee trickling of pirate books and I COULD NOT BE MORE EXCITED.  GIVE ME ALL OF THEM.  ALL.  OF.  THEM.

Daughter of the Pirate King   Pirate Latitudes   Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson   Under the Black Flag: The Romance and the Reality of Life Among the Pirates by David Cordingly   The Princess Bride   Pirates Past Noon

Medieval

aknight'staleheathledgerwink

Arthurian times, knights and princess and mages and highwaymen, scalawags and scoundrels, the plague… Anything claiming to be set in old Europe despite serious historical inaccuracies is an easy sell for me, even if sometimes I immediately regret it.  A similar setting in a fantasy world is also acceptable.

Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin   hood   theladyoftherivers   first test   aconneticutyankeeinkingarthurscourt   ca31b05c81f7cdc593530385567444341587343

Magic

hermioneharrypotterpatronusorderofthephoenixmagicexcited

This one is almost unfair because these days, there’s a lot of magic going around.  I’ve had to stop picking up every book that proclaimed to have witches, mages, magicians, jinx-workers, sorcerers, wizards, etc., but I still do consider them.  Every time.  WOULDN’T IT BE GREAT IF MAGIC WAS REAL GUYS.

thecolorofmagic   alannathefirstadventure   The Demon King   Harry Potter at the Sorcerer's Stone by JK Rowling   The Queen of the Tearling   So You Want to Be A Wizard

Quest

frodolookinginterrupt

A general term here – quest, journey, adventure… anything that implies they are starting at an easy beginning, must complete a difficult task, and will probably make to a big grand finale.  GIANT BURNING EYE OPTIONAL. These can be pure quests, revenge quests… as long as there are monsters and traveling and a little bit of treasure and a whole lot of almost dying but not, I’M DOWN.

Fellowship of the Ring   Wizard's First Rule   The Name of the Wind   wonderfulwizardofoz   The Wind Singer   The Gunslinger

Mythology

wonderwomanbombnope

I know some people complain that it’s unoriginal, but I love it when books incorporate mythology into their stories.  Even more, I love it when they build their own entire mythological system.  These origins stories are such fun for me to read and I really like it when they blend into our world.  EXCEPT (and I have learned this the hard way) I DON’T WANT TO READ ABOUT JANE DOE GETTING IT ON WITH ZEUS OKAY.  ALL THE GODS WOULD NEVER FALL IN LOVE WITH HER AND START A WAR OVER HER NO.  Not even Helen of Troy quite managed that.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief   Abandon   American Gods   The Chaos of Stars   The Gospel of Loki   7b4df89a58034f4596b73666e51444341587343


Speak to me, my lovelies!

Do any of these buzzwords hit home for you?  Have you read any of the books I listed?  What buzzwords are an insta-buy for you? ❤

20 thoughts on “BAM! POW! ZAP! Insta-Reads from Buzzwords – #Top5Tuesdays

  1. Yas pirates are LWFHEJF AWESOME. Daughter of the Pirate King was really good, and I just ordered Blackhearts, so YAY (even though I now that one isn’t super-piratey until the second book but HEY). AND OMG HOW COULD I NOT THINK OF THE PRINCESS BRIDE??? #rude

    Mythology was one of my favorite things to read about when I was a teenager! I still love it, but now I’m more into magic, though quest books do kind of bum me out haha too much travelling XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, too MUCH questing is exhausting, but I do love a really GOOD quest.

      I AM NOT FAMILIAR WITH BLACKHEARTS. I need to get on top of that! And yes #shame, forgetting sweet Wesley/Dread Pirate Roberts! XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ALL THE SHAME I SHALL LIVE IN SHAME FOREVER. Wesley is literally my life??? I don’t understand how I could forget him since I’m quoting that book/the movie ALL THE TIME ALWAYS.
        I hear Blackhearts is really good! It’s supposed to be the backstory of a certain baddy pirate!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ooooh, Blackbeard! You know what I want to see? An amazing (not sorta lame) fictionalized book around Anne Bonny. I fell in love with her watching Black Sails and need more STAT.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The words medieval and magic will almost always make me want to read a book. Books that have a quest, I normally avoid, I usually find quests sort of boring.
    OH MY GOODNESS DO YOU LIKE TAMORA PIERCE?!?!?!?!? I love her books so so SO SO MUCH!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t even know, I love all of them! I love Circle of Magic because it was the first one I read by her, but I also adore Protector of the Small! How about you?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Circle of Magic was my FIRST but I think my favorite is her newer duology, Trickster’s Choice/Trickster’s Queen. It’s all fun. I really appreciate how her writing has matured from Childrens to MG to YA with her readers. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

