“Die for Me” by Amy Plum

Kate Mercier is heartbroken.  She and her sister Georgia moved into their grandparents’ Paris apartment after the untimely death of their parents.  Nothing in the glittering city can lift her out of the gloom of her mourning… until she meets Vincent.  Vincent is sweet, smart, handsome… and undead.


Die For MeDie For Me

by Amy Plum

Narrated by Julia Whelan

❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎

Series: Revenants (1)
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, Romance
Published By: Harper Audio in 2011
Original Publication: HarperTeen in 2011 (US Hardcover Edition)
Format: Digital Audiobook (9 hours, 20 minutes)
Source: Overdrive

goodreads librarything publisher author

summary

My life had always been blissfully, wonderfully normal. But it only took one moment to change everything.

Suddenly, my sister, Georgia, and I were orphans. We put our lives into storage and moved to Paris to live with my grandparents. And I knew my shattered heart, my shattered life, would never feel normal again. Then I met Vincent.

Mysterious, sexy, and unnervingly charming, Vincent Delacroix appeared out of nowhere and swept me off my feet. Just like that, I was in danger of losing my heart all over again. But I was ready to let it happen.

Of course, nothing is ever that easy. Because Vincent is no normal human. He has a terrifying destiny, one that puts his life at risk every day. He also has enemies . . . immortal, murderous enemies who are determined to destroy him and all of his kind.

While I’m fighting to piece together the remnants of my life, can I risk putting my heart—as well as my life and my family’s—in jeopardy for a chance at love?

review

When I started reading this book, I remember groaning and being generally displeased about the immediate cliches and ooey-gooey romance.

kissingbook

But then, I wasn’t.  It was light.  I enjoyed it.  It was a kissing book, though.

Characters

❤︎

I quite liked Kate.  I liked that she was sad and sweet and shy.  I like that she was a bookworm.  I like that no matter what “transformation” came to her character, she never became a party girl.  She remained true to herself.  Given what she was presented with, I feel that Kate reacted PROPERLY.  She was #no.  It always perplexes me in books when people are all, “Okay cool, you’re a vampire. No big.”  Because there aren’t vampires.  So when Vincent says, “We’re Revenant!  Like zombies!” and she goes “WTF?”  She won my heart right there.

The rest of the characters are fairly… meh.  Considering their ages and backgrounds, they’re all terribly modern.  Not unlikable, but not particularly well done.

World

❤︎

PARIS.

J’adore Paris.

Amy Plum uses Paris perfectly in the background of the story.  It’s the perfect background for the romance, and there’s enough eerie below the city to support the Revenant plot.  There are cafes and museums, but only the slightest glance at places like La Tour Eiffel and Le Lourve so that it felt more immersed. Très bien.

Story

Okay, so here’s the thing.

The story?  With the whole Revenant vs. Numa thing?  It was sorta there, hanging out in the shadows, trying really hard not to get in the way.  WHY.

Because this is a kissing book.

-10 points.

Writing / Narration

❤︎

Other than the whole “oh yeah, other plotline” problem, this isn’t HORRIBLE.  Vincent has about 16 million cliches.  The other characters aren’t so bad.  I read it as a light, fluffy, silly read so I wasn’t expecting a deep, dark, stressful turn of events.  Anybody who goes into this book for the Revenant plotline will be miffed.

This is a book that was absolutely saved by the narration.  Julia Whelan can do a perfect French accent.  Now maybe I’m a little bit of a cliche, but a French accent makes me weak.

Personal Thoughts

❤︎

I liked it.  I’m usually the first person to say STOP THE ROMANCE OMG NO.  But for some reason in this book, I was on the other end of the spectrum.  I think that I just needed something fluffy, and this is a light and easy read.  It probably deserves something closer to three stars, but I’m in a good mood, so it can have four.

favoritequotes

“Besides the alternate universe offered by a book, the quiet space of a museum was my favorite place to go. My mom said I was an escapist at heart . . . that I preferred imaginary worlds to the real one. It’s true that I’ve always been able to yank myself out of this world and plunge myself into another.”

“We’re all lost souls here. It’s a good thing we’ve got each other.”

“I spent the rest of my day in someone else’s story. The rare moments that I put the book down, my own pain returned in burning stabs. I felt like a circus knife thrower’s target. If I held my mind immobile, I might avoid being hit by the blades whizzing by my head.”


amazon barnesandnoble indiebound bookdepository

6 thoughts on ““Die for Me” by Amy Plum

  1. Aaaah I read this so long ago, but I do remember that it was a kissing book haha. I feel like these types of stories were totally “in” way back when though, so I think I fully enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

