Readathons = NOPE – #BookBloggerHop

bookbloggerhop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Billy on Ramblings of a Coffee Addict.  Each week, bloggers answer a different question about their own lives or reading habits.


This week’s is going to be quick and simple, because I don’t have a whole lot to say about it.  I prefer to try and make a full post out of these questions when I can, rather than quick one off, but here goes…

Do you participate in readathons and/or reading challenges?

I don’t!  I mean, not really.  I do tend to set my Goodreads Challenge every year, but I don’t take it quite seriously. I am trying to do a better job about reading more than I have in previous years.  Usually I set my reading challenge at 24 – a book every other week – and up it when I get close.

Really, it sort of feels like cheating.  I’ve never failed the Goodreads Challenge because I start easy and escalate as I meet goals.

shrug

I see these reading challenges all over the place!  Booktube-a-thon… there’s one going around now that I’m practically tempted to try: the Reading Quest.  I guess I don’t participate because I like to take books at my own pace.  I always read books for school and kept up with assignments, but I find things are immensely more enjoyable when I take them at my own pace, and choose my own books.

A lot of the reading challenges require specific books, as well.  Not that I don’t want to read books with a little more of this or that… and I have over 300 books of my TBR.  Yup, that’s right, I’m actually being crushed by my TBR.  I’d like to read that first, then go from there!

So those are my excuses.

Maybe someday I will participate in a readathon or reading challenge, but today is not that day.

sillydance

17 thoughts on “Readathons = NOPE – #BookBloggerHop

  1. I’m kind of the same! I just set up my goodreads challenge and hope to finish it (which I already have this year because I’ve been reading A LOT….). I do want to join in more challenges and readathons though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well you are destroying me! Right now, I’m only reading about 2 books/week, and even then, sometimes I feel overwhelmed by all the characters and plotlines I lose track of things! Major props!

      Like

  2. I like to read reading challenges to help me get through some of my TBR books. I have to be careful about making lists though because once I make a list, I find myself wanting to deviate. So, I tend to do better when I can choose books as I go. This year though, I’m taking a break from challenges. I’m finding it harder to stay motivated to finish once they are underway.

    I hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TBR books can be killer! My Goodreads TBR is up at about 400 books now (I think I’ve added about 100 since I scheduled that post! *facepalm*). I now just force myself to go through everything in the order that it’s been added, and it’s been working *so far*. Fingers crossed!

      Have a great weekend yourself! ❤

      Like

  3. I am also being crushed by my TBR list. I work in a bookstore, so every time I see something that interests me I add it to the list. This is why I can’t keep up with challenges at all. I read whatever I feel like reading at any given time, so I am never able to match up what I’m reading with what the challenge says I “should” be reading. I use the Goodreads challenge like you, more as a guideline than a real challenge. I set myself a goal of 130 books this year because I previously wasn’t counting all the graphic novels and kids books I read for work, but other people count them, so I figured I should too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too, SO MUCH. I have enough books without having to find one that’s won XYZ award or includes a character with pink hair! XD We should start up a Read-Whatever-Books-You-Want-This-Week Read-a-Thon!

      Like

  4. Today is not that day for me either. Someday I will do it again, because I do like to be stretched to read something that’s not my usual, but I just don’t have the time (or sometimes, the motivation!) right now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

