The Sunshine Blogger Award

I’ve been nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award!

sunshine-blogger

The lovely Darque Dreamer has nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Award!  Please head over to Darque Dreamer Reads and give this lovely lady some love.

What is the Sunshine Blogger Award?

The Sunshine Blogger Award is given to those who are creative, positive and inspiring, while spreading sunshine to the blogging community.

❤ Too sweet.  Thanks, Darque!

The Rules

  • Thank the person(s) who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo on your post and/or on your blog.

Darque’s Questions

Who is the one person that is the sunshine in your life?

I try to find sunshine in all sorts of people and places – my coworkers, my friends, my family, my pets, and my husband.  I think that the greatest sunshine (and, admittedly, the greatest frustrations) come from my husband.  Possibly also the cats. ❤

giphy5

Do you prefer all happy movies, or occasional sad movies?

I am a happy movie person, 100%!  I want to be cheered and entertained when I watch movies.  It is a rare moment when I reach for something I know will make me cry.  When I do, it’s usually P.S. I Love You.  That movie makes me cry every time.

stayinbedanddyingsadhorrible

What is the one food that always makes you happy?

I am a chocolate person, so I would have to go with brownies!  Nothing fancy or special about them, plain old chocolate brownies will do just fine!

tumblr_nwybenciit1s3y9slo1_500

What is the sunshine on your blog?

This is a tough question!  I try to keep things light, because that’s my jam.  I’m not really sure what in particular makes people smile about the blog, but I do get lots of compliments about the graphics and GIFs, so maybe those?

shrug

What is your favorite holiday?

I love Halloween!  Not as much as some people, but I have great memories of costume parties and trick-or-treating as a kid.  It’s just a fun, light holiday for us, whereas a lot of the other ones (Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter) can get stressful because of family drama.

jackskelingtonhalloweencreepyevilplan

What is one thing you love about yourself?

Erm.  I like that I’m smart, I guess?  It doesn’t always come off, and I wasn’t the best student in the world (I’m rubbish at multiple choice exams and they always destroyed my GPA) but I am nonetheless very proud of my ability to research and reason and the best way to offend me is to treat me like a fool.

i'msmart

What is one think you love about the blogging community?

My favorite thing about the blogging world – and this goes for most niches, not just book blogging – is the welcoming, open-armed environment.  NO MATTER WHO YOU ARE.  Age, nationality, sexual orientation, whatever.  We all rally around a passion and don’t think twice about anything bigger than that and it’s freaking beautiful.

Group hug

What is the one book that made you smile the most?

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh had me laughing to tears more than once.  I desperately miss Allie’s blog, and while I completely understand and respect her decision to back away, as well as delays on her second book, if anyone deserved a sunshine award, it was her.

alliebroshhyperboleandahalfadulting

Where is your corner of sunshine in your home?

I have moved so often and we live in a fairly small apartment, so it’s hard to find a purely *quiet* and *me* space.  The closest I have is my bedroom, which is painted aquarium blue and contains things like my favorite chair, some of my favorite art, and my Funko Pop collection which is colorful and quirky.

zenfakeconcernedprayingnot

What is your favorite color or colors?

I like lots of colors!  I usually keep to the cool end of the spectrum, but given a choice, I will probably always go from some shade of purple.

tenor10

What is the one movie that always makes you happy?

My guilty pleasure movie is Nacho Libre.  It’s the stupidest thing, and it makes me laugh every.  Single.  Time.  I’ve only ever met a couple of people who like it as well, but most people just roll their eyes at me!  Whatever – haters gotta hate. ❤

nacholibreeatingthinkingtoast

My Questions

  1. What is your blogging origin story?
  2. What is your guilty pleasure movie/TV show?
  3. What’s the BEST book to movie adaptation you’ve seen?
  4. What do you do when you need a pick-me-up?
  5. What is your favorite piece of artwork (classical, modern, street art, whatever)?
  6. What’s your favorite thing to do on a sunny day?
  7. Which of your 2017 reads (so far) would you recommend to anyone?
  8. What is your favorite mythological creature?
  9. What is your opinion of puns?
  10. How do you deal when someone you love hates one of your favorite books?
  11. Describe your dream personal library.

My Nominations

Shanah @ The Bionic Bookworm

Lauren @ Comma Hangover

Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile

Lori @ Pure Imagination

Erin @ The Hardcover Lover

Suzanne @ The Bookish Libra

Erika @ The Nocturnal Fey

Destiny @ Howling Libraries

Amber @ Bookstacksamber

Jade @ Drink Coffee and Read Books

Bec @ Bec’s Books

10 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

    1. Thank Lauren! And you’re so right – and when you’re going to pick a sad movie, you might as well cry the whole time and get it all out. It took my three tries to finish P.S. I Love You because ALL THE TEARS. 😥

      Liked by 1 person

    1. YAY THANKS! ❤ I think there is enough darkness in the world (today, in particular, is quite bad….) and it's nice to have a little corner of the inter webs that's fun and happy. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG, I ADORE Nacho Libre SO MUCH. It just makes me laugh like crazy. I remember seeing it in theaters on one of my first dates haha. I have not seen Tucker and Dale vs. Evil but now I feel like I ought to look into it. XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

